Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Welcome to Elementary School Kids, "Ask the Teacher" post!

Ask anything and we will do our best to give you an honest, informative reply. 

I've been teaching elementary school for 14 years. My master's degree is in reading education and I'm certified in Exceptional Student Education, and ESL. I've taught a variety of grades and more kids than I can count. 

If you'd like to check out the hundreds of questions that have already been asked and answered check the old post here

by on Oct. 27, 2011 at 7:44 PM
Replies (31-40):
maxswolfsuit
by Max on Nov. 1, 2011 at 7:00 PM

Quoting mirabelle:

My son just started kindergarten and i  think he may  ADD or ADHD.  He is showing many symptoms at home and in school.  Im hesitant about putting him on medicine right now.  So im wondering what do other parents do to before giving in to the medicine route.

I'm sure there are groups on CM that would have tons of tips. 

I know dietary changes have a huge impact on some kids. A good friend just cut all processed food out of her son's diet and his behavior is much better. 

surprisedmom22
by on Nov. 1, 2011 at 10:32 PM

what is the average age to start slumber parties? There are a few 1st graders (6/7 year olds) that are having slumber parties - I just feel this is too young for my daughter...But would like others input.

Bob192
by Member on Nov. 1, 2011 at 11:07 PM

My daughter is 7 and in 2nd grade.  She reads several grade levels ahead and does well with math and science.  She has ADHD and has a lot of trouble with spelling and handwriting.  For the spelling we have tried spellingcity.com.  For handwriting we have done workbooks at home.  She is still having trouble in both areas.  Any suggestions???

allbrightb
by on Nov. 2, 2011 at 12:51 PM