Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

when did u......

Posted by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:00 AM
  • 20 Replies

talk to your kids about sex? ive been telling my husband for several months now that i think we need to talk to our 9 year old (almost 10) about sex but he says its way to early! i think we really need to talk to him before he learns about it from someelse and maybe even gets incorrect information. weve talked with him about drugs and addiction and things like that but when it comes to sex my husband like freaks about talking to the kids. i told him i would do it but hes like adamant that he thinks its too early and im gonna screw up his head or something. what age did u talk to your kids about it? and how did u initiate the conversation???

by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:00 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
steelcrazy
by Emerald Member on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:04 AM
1 mom liked this

I am one of those strange people who doesn't believe in having "the talk".  We've had many talks over the years and it began with teaching the proper names for body parts when they were toddlers and has gone on from there.  Every time that they have a question, I answer it honestly and age appropriately.

Does your dd know about periods and her changing body?  If not, I would begin to discuss that ASAP.  I have boys, but several of the ladies have mentioned a good book by the American Girl people, you may want to check that out for some help on this exciting topic.

ProudMommy51006
by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:05 AM
Follow your husband. He was a little boy once, he knows how little boys are and how other little boys are. My dh is guiding me with our son because I am terrified to introduce sex to early to him. I was a little girl once so I can relate better to our daughter, I will guide us with her.