Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

talk to your kids about sex? ive been telling my husband for several months now that i think we need to talk to our 9 year old (almost 10) about sex but he says its way to early! i think we really need to talk to him before he learns about it from someelse and maybe even gets incorrect information. weve talked with him about drugs and addiction and things like that but when it comes to sex my husband like freaks about talking to the kids. i told him i would do it but hes like adamant that he thinks its too early and im gonna screw up his head or something. what age did u talk to your kids about it? and how did u initiate the conversation???

by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:00 AM
Replies (11-20):
rnmom4lif
by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:30 AM

yeah thats kind of what i had said to my husband- i was like ok well lets just try and intitate a conversation about puberty and his body changing and then go from there. let him ask us questions and just answer his honestly and truthfully and let him guide the conversation. im hoping after showing him some of these posts on here he will see im not crazy and we need to at the very least talk with him about puberty.

Quoting Traci_Momof2:

Well, I think I was about 10 or 11 years old when I learned the mechanics of sex - and I learned it from a friend.  That was back in the mid '80's.  So I would say that if you don't want him learning from a friend first, you probably shouldn't wait too much longer.