Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Learning to tie their shoes...

Posted by on May. 4, 2012 at 12:31 PM
  • 17 Replies

What age/ grade did your child learn to tie their shoes?  Please don't bash, but my dd is almost 7 and almost out of 1st grade and still doesn't know how to tie her shoes.  She accellerates in every aspect of school and is at the top of the classs, but for some reason shoe tying just isn't her strong point.  IDK maybe I'm just a horrible teacher.  I always thought it was something they learned in Kinder...but they never did cover that!  LOL  And now, almost all kids shoes don't need to ever be tied!  She has a pair of Sketchers that just slip right on and never come untied.  She has zipper shoes, sandals and little slid on Vans.  Any pointers on how to teach kids how to tie their shoes?

by on May. 4, 2012 at 12:31 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
steelcrazy
by Emerald Member on May. 4, 2012 at 12:41 PM
1 mom liked this

Use daddy's shoes for practicing.  They are much bigger and will be easier for her little hands to work with when she is first learning.  My only other advice is that practice makes perfect, so have her work on it for a few minutes every day and she will have it down in no time at all.  Once she is pretty good at tying her shoes, get her a pair of tie shoes so that she doesn't "forget" the newly learned skill.

xtwistedxlovex
by Bronze Member on May. 4, 2012 at 12:50 PM

I didn't learn until I was 7. My great aunt and uncle showed me the day my grandma died o.O I don't know if they were just better at explaining or nobody had explained it to me at all before that. I just remember being embarrassed that I couldn't tie my shoes.

Try the ian knot; it's simple and quick once you figure it out.

M4LG5
by Gold Member on May. 4, 2012 at 1:02 PM

My oldest was 4.