Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Learning to tie their shoes...

Posted by   + Show Post

What age/ grade did your child learn to tie their shoes?  Please don't bash, but my dd is almost 7 and almost out of 1st grade and still doesn't know how to tie her shoes.  She accellerates in every aspect of school and is at the top of the classs, but for some reason shoe tying just isn't her strong point.  IDK maybe I'm just a horrible teacher.  I always thought it was something they learned in Kinder...but they never did cover that!  LOL  And now, almost all kids shoes don't need to ever be tied!  She has a pair of Sketchers that just slip right on and never come untied.  She has zipper shoes, sandals and little slid on Vans.  Any pointers on how to teach kids how to tie their shoes?

by on May. 4, 2012 at 12:31 PM
Replies (11-17):
wakymom
by Ruby Member on May. 4, 2012 at 3:19 PM

My boys were 7 and in 2nd gr. I tried working w/ them on it, but for some reason it never clicked until my uncle worked w/ them on it. I have no idea what his secret is- maybe it's just that he's goofy and not Mom or Dad : )

Dd is 6, in kindy, and has made a start on learning- she's been trying to teach herself : )

Traci_Momof2
by Silver Member on May. 4, 2012 at 3:23 PM

My ds is 7 and is in 1st grade.  He sort of knows how but is not very good at it.  He doesn't like to practice either.  He will avoid wearing tie shoes unless he absolutely has to.

I don't have any advice except practice, practice, practice.

jaytee
by Jen on May. 4, 2012 at 3:25 PM
My 10 year old ds has been tying his shoes since he was about 6. My almost 9 y/o and my 3 y/o daughters don't know how to tie their shoes. I've tried several times to teach the 9 y/o and it always ends in tears. I think I'll try Steels tip!!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Tara922c
by on May. 4, 2012 at 3:26 PM