Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

What should the repercussion be when parents...

Posted by   + Show Post

don't support their child's education?

If a parent won't contact the school, attend conferences, monitor homework, get their child to school regularly, or return phone calls should there be a consequence for that?

Is this something CPS should get involved in or maybe the court system. Should involvement in education be tied to PA benefits? Or is it a parent's right to neglect their child's education?

Debate...

by on Nov. 17, 2012 at 6:15 PM
Replies (71-80):
mjande4
by Platinum Member on Nov. 18, 2012 at 2:14 PM

Amen sister!  Well stated!!

Quoting HH6:

As a teacher, I wish there was a way to require a parent's involvement.  I am held solely responsible (through my evaluations as well as the public's perception) for the academic success of my students yet every study available confirms that a child's home situation is the strongest determining factor in their success.  As a teacher I take full responsibility for MY role in every child's success and I hope that I have a positive influence on every student I teach but to be told repeatedly by the public that kids are failing because of poor teachers and schools is beyond frustrating.  I work my tail off every day and on the weekends to come up with solutions for my students who are challenged in some way but, bottom line, I am not the sole determining factor in their life - their parent's influence on their daily situation is much greater than mine.  I think that this may be the frustration of the original poster.  There is ALWAYS a way for parents to be involved.  It doesn't mean they have to have $$ or a schedule that works with the school.  Respond to my phone calls, my e-mails.  Tell me HOW I can help you and your child.  Enforce responsibility with your child, show them that education