Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

What should the repercussion be when parents...

Posted by   + Show Post

don't support their child's education?

If a parent won't contact the school, attend conferences, monitor homework, get their child to school regularly, or return phone calls should there be a consequence for that?

Is this something CPS should get involved in or maybe the court system. Should involvement in education be tied to PA benefits? Or is it a parent's right to neglect their child's education?

Debate...

by on Nov. 17, 2012 at 6:15 PM
Replies (81-90):
maxswolfsuit
by Max on Nov. 18, 2012 at 6:33 PM

Quoting sandra1023:

I'm a social worker in Ky, and we get involved in these cases if it is reported.

Our social worker is involved. Most of the time, his involvement does get parents to do a little. But in the worst cases the parents know exactly what they can get away with before anything happens to them. And they take full advantage of that. 

sakpoints
by Member on Nov. 18, 2012 at 8:08 PM

Interesting topic, but I am not sure what repercussions could be installed.  Other than truancy which is backed by law I am not sure anything can be done to parents.

calsmom62
by on Nov. 18, 2012 at 8:12 PM
Wouldn't it be great if we could just fix all the kids with family issues?? God bless you for not giving up on your charges, at a time when teachers have more to do with fewer resources....

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

It's just a terrible situation all around. I think the older kids are focused on their own needs. No seems to care about the youngest one. 

All three are incredibly bright kids with a terrible outlook and attitude about school. :(

Quoting calsmom62: