Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Torn between career and staying home!

I am a registered nurse (focusing on cancer patients) woking full time (plus).  I really enjoy what I do, but as my children are getting a little older and are both in school now (K and 1st grade), I feel like I don't have enough hours in the day (or night).  This past summer (and since) I have cried myself to sleep several nights because my heart actually aches to be home! Does that sound crazy??? I feel so very stressed because my house has NEVER been in the disarray (sp?) that it is now!!!  There is no way that I can possibly get caught up as our nights are short enough the way it is.  My husband is NOT the domestic type at all!!!  I desperately want to be a good wife and mother to our 2 little blessings!  Each day I feel more and more that I want and need to be home in order to take care of things.  I don't want to disappoint anyone at work; but my family means more to me than my work!  Am I being unreasonable???  Any thoughts???  Thank you, from a torn and hurting mom.

by on Jan. 4, 2013 at 11:24 PM
Replies (21-27):
maxswolfsuit
by Max on Jan. 5, 2013 at 11:58 AM

I've never felt quite like that as a working mom. 

You need to follow your heart. If you feel that strongly about it you should see what you can do to me home more. 

Pukalani79
by Silver Member on Jan. 5, 2013 at 12:07 PM

If you can afford to quit, then talk to your husband and look into it.  I left a high paying job ($18/hr) 7 years ago to be at home.  While its been tight at times, I wouldn't change it for anything.  We've had to make sacrifices, but that's okay.  We drive one vehicle, we dont have cable or a landline.  My cell and internet are pre-paid.  We rarely go out. But it works and that's what it takes for me to be home.  I volunteer a lot to give me "me" time, to be involved with my kids and to keep my resume full.  Good luck!

luvmy2kiddosKP