Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Separation Anxiety/School Refusal

Posted by on Jan. 7, 2013 at 10:47 AM
  • 7 Replies

Hello, 

Ok I'm new to all of this and just in need of some advice!  My 6 year old daughter is in kindergarten and absolutley loved school at the begining of the year, just until the week of Christmas break! thats when tummy aches started and puking started trying to get out of school, my husband and I took her to the dr.to rule out any tummy issues and there were none!  We also met with her teacher who is wonderful by the way!! and she said to keep sending her and she will get over all of this, its just hard to watch her puke every  morning and go through these fits because when she is in school and in her routine there she does fine?  Just don't know what else to do at this point! I guess I'm just wanting to know I'm doing the right thing by keep on sending her?

*Kristina

by on Jan. 7, 2013 at 10:47 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
steelcrazy
by Emerald Member on Jan. 7, 2013 at 10:58 AM
1 mom liked this

Is there something going on at school?  A child picking on her?  How about a change at home recently?  A new baby?  Death in the family?  

Her reaction seems a bit extreme for there to be nothing going on at school and no changes in her life.  I'd sit down and try to talk to her about what is going on.  However, the teacher is right, you need to keep sending her to school.  Letting her stay home, won't help the situation any.

LilliesValley
by on Jan. 7, 2013 at 11:03 AM
1 mom liked this