Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

booster sit .my son is tall and heavy

Posted by   + Show Post
hi ladies

I have a concern. my son is 6.5 years old and he is 4.5 feet tall and 118 lbs. the booster sitt stocks on his butt. I cant find big enough booster sit for him. Does he need it?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 8, 2013 at 11:38 AM
Replies (21-30):
momtoBrenna
by Silver Member on Jan. 25, 2013 at 1:11 PM

I looked and there aren't any boosters that are going to fit a 4.5 ft 118 lb kid. They are going to be too narrow and the highest weight limit that I have seen is 120 lbs and that one is quite narrow too. Good luck, OP.

Momyplease
by on Jan. 25, 2013 at 1:55 PM
thanks for the great info I definitely will do. thanks for the website.

Quoting k.stark:

As a car seat tech I have to warn you that Police officers and fire fighters are not trained in any way in car seat safety unless they too are a CPST..... And even then they can be questionable because those people generally are made to take the class to become a CPST where as others volunteer to take the class on their own time... I strongly urge you to go to safekids.org and find a tech near you..... even a phone call to a seasoned tech could be life saving.. :) 

Quoting Momyplease:

Ok I got the answere. because he is over 100 lbs he does not need a booster sit. I flagged down a police officer at the red light today. the one I called earlier never returned my phonecall. but this one was super nice.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Momyplease
by on Jan. 25, 2013 at 1:58 PM
Yes you right hes behind do not fit in it without having to pill him out of it. I even though too make a home made one. but how? or elevate the whole sit? it's crazy.

Quoting momtoBrenna: