Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

ADD--WWYD

Posted by on Jan. 11, 2013 at 7:58 PM
  • 21 Replies
So we found out today that our youngest DS has ADD. The doctor is leaving it up to us to medicate or not. I'm torn because I I want to use it as a last result but I'm not sure the behaviour modifications he mentioned will work and how would we do that at school? So I'm asking you mothers who have kids with ADD, what would you suggest? If purely behaviour modifications, what exactly?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 11, 2013 at 7:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
frndlyfn
by Gold Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 8:21 PM

I have no experience but wish you the best of luck.   The teachers may have training already in the add area and the child may need an IEP set in place for behavior help like an aide to keep them on track.

RLSMOM59
by Bronze Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 8:34 PM

I guess I am not understanding. If the doctor recommended or mentioned behaviour mod techniques why are you so reluctant to try them? Do they put you child in harms way? Does it require you take time away from what you need to do? Does it cost major money? I'm just confused. You will never know if it will work if you don't try. To me it's like going to the doctor because you're sick, get a prescription, fill it and not take it because you don't know if you're going to get better or not. Sorry to be blunt but that's just me.

Idntreallycare
by Bronze Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 8:40 PM
A lot of people have had success with diet change. I've heard that red dye can aggravate a lot of issues, but taking out a lot of artific ingredients can't hurt
OHgirlinCA
by Bronze Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 8:47 PM