Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Introduction and a question

Posted by on Jan. 28, 2013 at 1:44 PM
  • 12 Replies

Hi, I'm new to Cafe moms,  I have a 12 year old daughter in 6th grade and a 10 year old son in 4th grade.  My son is always telling me that  no one likes him.  The school counselor said as long as one kid likes him then that's good.  I was at my daughters basketball game and ended up sitting by a little girl in my sons class I started talking to her about liking my son.  Her response was oooh, I don't like him he's so annoying.  I asked her what she meant and she said he never shut up and was always goofing around.  What do I do? This girl said nobody likes him.  This upsets me to no end.  How can I help him?  He is very talkative.

by on Jan. 28, 2013 at 1:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Jessiejack
by Bronze Member on Jan. 28, 2013 at 1:54 PM
1 mom liked this

First off that child is rude. And if that was my daughter I would kill her for talking to any adult that way. It sounds to me like it's the other kids in the class that are rude and snobs. Sorry but I have always taught my daughter that you are nice to everyone. I might have a heart to heart with your son and see what he thinks. Keep in mind you were talking to a girl and at that age most girls don't like boys.

amonkeymom
by Member on Jan. 28, 2013 at 2:27 PM

Welcome to the group!

I have a talkative one as well (my teenager) and she was diagnosed with adhd at around your son's age, one of the symptoms was her constant need to blurt out every thought. 

I'm not saying your son has adhd, because I'm not an expert, but it might be something to look into and you also might want to sit him down and explain to him that it's not good to not let others have a chance to talk too.

Quoting Blainebaby: