Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

are all 11 year olds needy?

Posted by on Jan. 29, 2013 at 8:23 PM
  • 6 Replies

I am a mother of 3, ages 18, 16, 11, and my significant other of 8 years has a daughter, 11. i am a full time student trying to get my BSN I share joint custody of my 11 year old and have since he was 2 years old. My son has always done very well in school even testing into the accelerated program. Recently, he has not been completing homework and/or turning it in on time to get credit. My son continualy makes excuses (he doesn't understand the questions, the teacher didn't explain it well enough, and his father is supporting this behavior. For example my son says he doesn't have time in the evening because of wrestling practice, and my X agrees with this but refuses to cut back on practice time. So we have a sit down, the 3 of us, and after some going back and forth my X says that my son stated to him that neither of us spend any time with him individually. I am home every night that he is in my custody, I may be working on homework or laundry or other housework but I am here and I do interact with him. Am I wrong to  expect my intelligent 11 year old to understand everything going on and if he needs something to seek me out? I am already carrying around a ton of guilt about the fact that hes in joint custody and when I went back to school we went down an socioeconomic grade or 2. HELP!!!

by on Jan. 29, 2013 at 8:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
steelcrazy
by Emerald Member on Jan. 29, 2013 at 8:46 PM