Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

The difference between an IEP and 504?

Posted by   + Show Post

I feel like this is such a silly question, but here goes: What's the difference between a 504 Plan and an IEP?  I'm just learning about IEPs since we just had my son evaluated in January and his IEP went into effect last week.  I keep seeing people mention 504 Plans and haven't heard of them.  I'm curious as to what exactly they are and how they differ from an IEP.

by on Feb. 17, 2013 at 2:42 PM
Replies (21-30):
maxswolfsuit
by Max on Feb. 18, 2013 at 8:45 AM

Quoting ZsMommy:

IEP's have to be followed...504's are more like "suggestions" and do not have to be followed by educators.

I don't know who told you that but 504 plans must be followed just like IEPs. 

soymujer
by Mikki on Feb. 18, 2013 at 11:23 AM

Thanks, I have a better undstanding now!

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

504 plans are to provide accommodations for students with various disabilities or medical conditions. They are similar to IEPs and can provide many of the same accommodations an IEP would. 

The main difference is students with 504 plans don't generally recieve ESE services. For example a student with 504 plan wouldn't go to a resource class for instruction or work with the speech pathologist at the school. But a student with a 504 could have extra time to finish work or be allowed to do work in a quiet setting.

The process for qualifying for a 504 plan is usually much faster than the IEP process. But students with 504 usually have known or formally diagnosed conditions that have been documented. In order for a student to qualify for an IEP more time is needed because the student's needs are being evaluated during the process.   

family in the van   Mom of four

ZsMommy
by on Feb. 18, 2013 at 11:50 AM

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

Quoting ZsMommy: