Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

The difference between an IEP and 504?

Posted by   + Show Post

I feel like this is such a silly question, but here goes: What's the difference between a 504 Plan and an IEP?  I'm just learning about IEPs since we just had my son evaluated in January and his IEP went into effect last week.  I keep seeing people mention 504 Plans and haven't heard of them.  I'm curious as to what exactly they are and how they differ from an IEP.

by on Feb. 17, 2013 at 2:42 PM
Replies (31-40):
Mom2jngnc
by Stephannie on Feb. 18, 2013 at 5:49 PM

This is what I had been told as well. 

Quoting MsLogansMommy:

this is the same info I have been told by several different people. everyone says go for the IEP if possible because it is enforceable. i think what might be happening is that they probably are both enforceable (lack of a better word) but maybe the way to have an IEP remedied is easier than the process to have a 504 fixed. That would explain all the misinformation. The one website that I listed in an earlier post says one of the differences between them is reporting noncompliance with IEP you request due process to the State's Dept of Ed, with a 504 you would report noncompliance and request a hearing with the Office of Civil Rights

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

Quoting ZsMommy:

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

Quoting ZsMommy:

IEP's have to be followed...504's are more like "suggestions" and do not have to be followed by educators.

I don't know who told you that but 504 plans must be followed just like IEPs. 

Unfortunately...That info came from a Spec Ed teacher-told me that if a child is in an intergrated classroom-a reg ed teacher isn't held to the same strict rules of following what is in place as they are with an IEP.  Sorry to tell you-but unfortunately state to state...district to district rules concerning 504's do vary :(