Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My daughter wants me to homeschool

Posted by on Feb. 23, 2013 at 2:45 PM
  • 76 Replies
1 mom liked this

She's in first grade and had a wonderful teacher.  Well, teacher retired Friday with no prior notice to the families; we got a letter home on Friday.  I know the teacher and apparently it was the administration who thought this was a good idea not to let anyone know.  My daughter is upset as are several of her friends.  I know people retire midyear (its based on years of service and your birthday) and understand thinking February vacation would be a good transition from one teacher to the new one but we should have been told at least a week ago so the kids could be prepared.  My daughter asked me yesterday if I could quit working (I'm a special ed teacher) and homeschool her.  That's not a possibility and I know she'll be fine but I really wish the principal (whom I'm not a fan of) had thought about the kids a little more.

by on Feb. 23, 2013 at 2:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
frndlyfn
by Gold Member on Feb. 23, 2013 at 2:52 PM

Oh man, her poor little heart.  I am sure they would have loved to throw a good bye party or something for their teacher. I guess you will have to watch and see if she likes the new teacher coming in.   DD got the youngest teacher of her grade this year (1st grade as well) so no fear of her retiring but leaving after this year if she doesnt like how things are run.

calsmom62
by on Feb. 23, 2013 at 2:57 PM