Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

My daughter wants me to homeschool

Posted by   + Show Post

She's in first grade and had a wonderful teacher.  Well, teacher retired Friday with no prior notice to the families; we got a letter home on Friday.  I know the teacher and apparently it was the administration who thought this was a good idea not to let anyone know.  My daughter is upset as are several of her friends.  I know people retire midyear (its based on years of service and your birthday) and understand thinking February vacation would be a good transition from one teacher to the new one but we should have been told at least a week ago so the kids could be prepared.  My daughter asked me yesterday if I could quit working (I'm a special ed teacher) and homeschool her.  That's not a possibility and I know she'll be fine but I really wish the principal (whom I'm not a fan of) had thought about the kids a little more.

by on Feb. 23, 2013 at 2:45 PM
Replies (71-76):
dedicatedmama2
by on Feb. 25, 2013 at 1:33 PM

I think you took this completely the wrong way. When notes are sent home, children tend not to read them or even care about them. I was not saying that they suck at reading but there is reading for a 1st grade level and then there is reading for adults. You should try not to be so offensive to things. You child may be above grade level, not every child is the same.  

Quoting apinksunrise:

i'm not sure WHERE you got this, but my first grader is an amazing reader, and LOVES to read, asks to spend his allowance on books instead of toys.... he's been reading since prek.

Quoting dedicatedmama2: