Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

OT-never expected a parent Update in blue Update in Red

Posted by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 9:21 AM
  • 90 Replies
1 mom liked this

The girl is back and I checked the baby and it wasn't neglected at all and she did take care of it while at the doctor or hospital. 

just to let you all know that if she is put in the hospital, which it looks like she may have been, will be put into consideration and she can either redo it or something can be worked out.  I'm not that heartless.

As you all know, I'm a Spanish teacher.  Well, I also teach one class of Family and Consumer Science (not qualified, got pushed into it when I started in the district).  Well, we are doing the baby dolls.  You know the real life dolls that cry that is supposed to teach them what it's like to care for a baby and hopefully steer them from having babies at such a young age.  IMO, they need to do it in junior high since they are already  pregnant when we get them in high school.  Anyway, a mother of one my students that has the baby called today saying that they are taking her to the hospital for possible gallbladder issues and so she may not be near the baby.  Um, can't the mother watch the baby while this goes on?  I would think that if the girl had a real baby that the mom would watch it or find a babysitter.  Thanks for the info but I'll still dock the grade (not by much) if the baby is neglected.  The point of them is to teach them responsibility of another human.  If I had to go to the hospital, I'd have to find someone to watch my baby.  If this mother had to go, she'd find someone to watch the baby.  Don't ignore it just because it's a doll and not real.  In the words of my son, oh, wow.

What would you do if your child was doing this for a class and this situation occured?  As the parent.

family in the van   Mom of four

by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 9:21 AM
Add your quick reply below: