Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

School supplies - different side.

Posted by on May. 3, 2013 at 7:24 AM
  • 31 Replies
I have always loved growing up and getting the school supplies... As an elementery student i do not remember needing as much as i hear these day... But i was little. In high school i bought as i needed....

Here even as a first grader my son buys as needed... They have a list of what is needed in his bag; he is responsible for making sure he has them...

I am not sure what i would prefer but the teachers do not have space to store that many supplies here so that is what works. Someone does not have something? The other kids share...

It works fine. I wonder when school supplies in the states became the practice of providing for the whole year? Has it always been that way?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 3, 2013 at 7:24 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
JulesFairy
by Silver Member on May. 3, 2013 at 7:42 AM
2 moms liked this
Its been that way as long as I can remember. The practice noe generally stems from the fact that stores count school supplies as a seasonal item. So good luck finding plain notebook paper or folders in February. If you do find them, they are usually double or triple the price they were at back to school time.
BonitaM
by Bronze Member on May. 3, 2013 at 7:57 AM

Our school too has just a list of supplies and then if anything is needed we have to send it with our child or they share in school.  Like, JulesFairy said school supplies are a seasonal item and are pretty expensive the rest of the year.   I buy loads of stuff at the beginning of the year and just send what she needs, the rest is on reserve and used at home. 

my4littlegirls
by and 1 boy on May. 3, 2013 at 8:04 AM