Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Welcome to Elementary School Kids, "Ask the Teacher" post!

Ask anything and we will do our best to give you an honest, informative reply. 

I've been teaching elementary school for 15 years. My master's degree is in reading education and I'm certified in Exceptional Student Education, and ESL. I've taught a variety of grades and more kids than I can count. 

If you'd like to check out the hundreds of questions that have already been asked and answered check the old post here and here

by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 4:24 PM
Replies (161-170):
PKOERNER
by Member on Oct. 7, 2013 at 8:53 PM
My daughter is 7, will be 8 in December and in second grade. The background to my question is as follows:
In first grade she could not keep up with the time allowances on classwork. They have a "team teaching approach" where there are two teachers and like 26 students. Wether there is one teacher to 17 or two to 26, they are given instruction in work for the day in the morning an then sent to centers for work at stations in groups, timed sessions and then when the time is up moved to the next work station. She has never been able to keep up. Last year her primary teacher tried to help, I brought her early to school, she ate lunch in class so she could work, I helped her finish assignments at home. This year same thing is happening. I'm extremely worried. She said she just doesn't understand and is not allowed to ask or the teacher gets mad. The teachers say she doesn't follow any one request or command the first time, it's like she drifts into putter space in mid action. I have piles of work coming home to be completed! I and she are exhausted
I have cut television off during the week, no iPad or wii type stimulation
Only outside play, sleep 10-11 hours at night, full stomach to school.. Nothing is working