Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Welcome to Elementary School Kids, "Ask the Teacher" post!

Ask anything and we will do our best to give you an honest, informative reply. 

I've been teaching elementary school for 15 years. My master's degree is in reading education and I'm certified in Exceptional Student Education, and ESL. I've taught a variety of grades and more kids than I can count. 

If you'd like to check out the hundreds of questions that have already been asked and answered check the old post here and here

by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 4:24 PM
Replies (221-230):
LiveinJoy
by on Jan. 12, 2014 at 2:08 PM
1 mom liked this

I love this thread!

CplusG
by Member on Jan. 12, 2014 at 7:21 PM
Thank you so much for your reply! I will update when I've met with them.

Quoting maxswolfsuit:

I share your friend's concerns. 

I also find it very alarming that "to their knowledge" no college has had an issue with accepting students from the school. That seems to imply they know this is real possibility. I would be extremely hesitant to enrol my child in a school like that. You don't how many different colleges their students have applied to. Your child could find their dream college and not be able to go because the school is not accredited. 

I don't know much about accreditation in GA. It could be typical for religious schools not to hold accreditation.  If that's the case, I would be less wary. But if other Christian school in the area have certified teachers and accreditation I would be asking lots of questions about why this one doesn't. It doesn't mean it's a bad school, but it would concern me.