Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Welcome to Elementary School Kids, "Ask the Teacher" post!

Ask anything and we will do our best to give you an honest, informative reply. 

I've been teaching elementary school for 15 years. My master's degree is in reading education and I'm certified in Exceptional Student Education, and ESL. I've taught a variety of grades and more kids than I can count. 

If you'd like to check out the hundreds of questions that have already been asked and answered check the old post here and here

by on Jan. 16, 2014 at 4:24 PM
Replies (291-300):
DyslexiaParent
by on Apr. 29, 2014 at 9:07 AM

Depending upon the root cause of his reading difficulty, whether it is dyslexia (lack of phonemic awareness), CAPD (central auditory processing disorder), or another disability, a good option is to use a comprehensive, mastery-based reading program at home like Lexia Learning's Reading program, Hearbuilder, the online version of Fast ForWord, etc.  By having your DS work for 20-30 minutes twice per day in one of those programs, it will prevent learning regression that often occurs during the summer, it will fill in gaps he may have in his reading understanding, and will help him continue to progress in his reading instruction.

Additionally, Maxswolfsuit recommended a lot of reading with your son.  Research by J.K. Torgesen shows that a dual approach to reading instruction affords a child the most learning progress.  That is, face-to-face instruction in addition to computer-based practice on a daily basis.  While the side-by-side reading won't be direct instruction in reading itself, lots of reading practice definitely helps!  When you add in a computer program for instruction, you have a summer program that is sure to help advance reading skills on some level. ;-)