Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

What are home visits???

Posted by on Jul. 5, 2013 at 12:28 AM
  • 29 Replies

We went to visit family an hour away across the state line today. There were signs all over the place from the school district informing parents about the "Home Visit Blitz for grades K-12." I've never heard of this. Can someone tell me what these visits are for and how common they are?? 

by on Jul. 5, 2013 at 12:28 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Luv.My.Kidz
by Bronze Member on Jul. 5, 2013 at 12:31 AM

When I was a preschool teacher we did home visits to see the parents and kids interact in the home and to go over things with the parents in their comfort zone. Some parents are more relaxed in their own home. We did them every 90 days.... some parents couldn't meet during the hours we worked so we would meet with them at the school.

frndlyfn
by Gold Member on Jul. 5, 2013 at 12:31 AM

I never heard of them either.  Odd to do them through 12th grade.

tennisgal
by on Jul. 5, 2013 at 12:32 AM

Why would you need to see how the parents and kids interacted in the home?? (not being snarky, genuinely curious). 

Quoting Luv.My.Kidz:

When I was a preschool teacher we did home visits to see the parents and kids interact in the home and to go over things with the parents in their comfort zone. Some parents are more relaxed in their own home. We did them every 90 days.... some parents couldn't meet during the hours we worked so we would meet with them at the school.

kjbugsmom1517
by Bronze Member on Jul. 5, 2013 at 12:33 AM
some teachers at our school do them to get to know the family on a more personal level. Not all teachers do it, my daughters k teacher is comin next week. Pre k had home visits too. The first and 2nd grades so far have not done them.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile