Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

I'm going to kill whoever decided...

Posted by on Sep. 18, 2013 at 10:48 PM
  • 124 Replies
9 moms liked this

Kids need to learn a different method of doing math.  Why can't they warn parents they aren't teaching long division and give a quick refresher on the new method so we don't look like idiots?  I have a Bachelor's but I still had to get my 8th grader to teach my 5th grader how to use the distributive method for division.  It's a cockamine method too imo.  It's an conspiracy of some kind I tell you.

by on Sep. 18, 2013 at 10:48 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
beadingmom17
by Bronze Member on Sep. 18, 2013 at 10:50 PM
2 moms liked this
I remember having to do this "new way" of doing math in 5th grade. All the parents complained. I mean, traditional or new-fangled, it all gets to the same answer!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
ReadWriteLuv
by on Sep. 18, 2013 at 10:55 PM
We're having a huge problem with 5th grade math. We just moved to the Midwest from the West Coast. At my daughters old school in Washington they did that crazy, stupid math that you speak of. You can't just put 1+1=2 that isn't acceptable, you have to show and explain WHY it is, using word problems and number rainbows and all sorts of crap. My husband and I have been stumped for two years with that crap, we couldn't wrap our heads around it.

Now that we are in the Midwest, totally different. Her math worksheets are the math her Dad and I know how to do, basic, straight up quantitative figures. The problem is that my 5th grader has no earthly idea how to do it this way. She honestly didn't know that * means multiplication, and she had no idea what a long division symbol was. I thought she was joking, she was serious, she'd never seen one before. It's frustrating as hell.
CampClan