Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Measles outbreak in Manitoba and other regions in Canada

Posted by on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:25 PM
  • 22 Replies

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/manitoba/manitoba-confirms-2nd-measles-case-in-winnipeg-man-1.2586218

Our school sent out a notice last week. They are aware I am a student at the U of M but my son and I are up to date on our shots. However, I understand why some parents do not vaccinate their children (in some religions, and others, just for philosophical reasons).

With that being said, if this happened in your state/city, would you be alarmed? Do you vaccinate your children? I delayed my son's MMR until he was 5. He was fine, but I have two cousins who were diagnosed with Autism coincidentally after they got their MMRs. My mom said I was delayed with my MMR as well.

I understand the risks and complications with these illnesses but I also do not trust 100% giving your kids vaccines in the preferred vaccine schedule the government gives you. I would space out my son's vaccines in his first year. He has been vaccinated against chicken pox and got them last year. 

by on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:25 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
steelcrazy
by Emerald Member on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:40 PM
2 moms liked this

This is why I vaccinate my children . . .

caligirl7613
by Member on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:47 PM
I wouldn't be alarmed but I wouldnt set up play dates either. I believe last time there was a measles outbreak here in the US all the kids who got it were vaccinated and the ones who were not vaccinated didn't get it.
Hannahluvsdogs
by Bronze Member on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:48 PM

I wouldn't be alarmed because my children are vaccinated.

jcm28
by Member on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:48 PM
We have an out break in Mass.
wakymom
by Ruby Member on Mar. 30, 2014 at 1:49 PM