Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Question for moms of 1st graders or older

Posted by on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:26 AM
  • 72 Replies

Hello!

I have a 5 year old who will be starting school in August. She's my only child so I'm new to this. I'm looking online at the schools in our area and they aren't answering my question.

Are kindergarten classes all day of half days? Or does it really depend on the area?

True enough, we're only almost into May but before we know it, the new school year will be upon us. I'm in the military and currently deployed but I need to make sure that I have everything sorted out for when I get back. Her starting school will be a major adjustment for us both because I'm so used to doing whatever I want. Now I'll have to plan around her schedule and also have to make sure that she has before/after school care prior to me returning back to the states. If anyone can answer this, it would be greatly appreciated!

EDIT: FYI, I'm stationed in Tennessee.

by on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:26 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Fields456
by Bronze Member on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:27 AM
1 mom liked this
I believe it just depends on where you live in Texas most if not all are all day
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
aetrom
by Gold Member on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:35 AM
It depends on the city/state
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
tamikadorch26
by on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:36 AM

It's all day long. School bell starts here at 8:15 am and they are out at 3:00pm.

WillsMOM72
by Bronze Member on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:36 AM
It depends on state.
Malayahsmom06
by on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:46 AM
I live in Texas. All day here
Gloria1025
by Member on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:50 AM

It depends on the school district - ours is full day but 2 neighboring districts are half day

frndlyfn
by Gold Member on Apr. 27, 2014 at 4:51 AM