Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

How can you do this to your kids?

Posted by on Apr. 30, 2014 at 7:43 PM
  • 302 Replies

I know that school pictures are expensive...I haven't bought SD's school pictures in YEARS because they are usually pretty horrible and I can't fathom spending $60 on pictures when I can go outside and take pics with my own camera and get them developed at Walmart for next to nothing!

I am a teacher, we gave out school pictures on Monday. With the pictures was a note saying that if parents didn't want to purchase the pictures they needed to return them otherwise they would be expected to pay for them, if they went unpaid the kids would not get their final report card and would not be able to participate in end of year activities like field day. When the girl returned on Tuesday she said that her mom said they were already paid for. I told her no, they weren't, no one had paid for them yet. I get a call from another teacher who happens to teach her brother asking about the pictures. She got a handwritten note on the note about needing to return the pictures saying that even though the note was stapled to the pics when the boy got home there were no pics.

We went to the principal just to let her know what was going on.

Today she came in and handed me the same note as the other teacher got. I asked her where the pictures were and she told me they were at home.

I went to my principal again and showed her the note. She tried to call mom on the spot but was only able to leave a message. She ended up getting ahold of grandma later.

I then got a phone call after school today from mom saying that the girl brought the pics back to school today but left her bookbag on the bus and when she got it after school the pics were missing - except she had her bookbag at school today and didn't have the pictures.