Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Does your child have a class ranking?

Posted by on Jun. 7, 2014 at 9:16 AM
Max
  • 41 Replies

I've been teaching elementary school for many years and the idea of class rank for young kids never even occurred to me.

But apparently a couple of teachers at my school have shared with parents where their child ranks among their classmates. So this year for the first time I have a student and parents asking me how one child fared compared to others.

This isn't something I feel is appropriate. I see no reason to compare the students in this way. The child did very well earning great grades and high scores on state testing. But both parent and child want reassurance that he is still the highest in the grade level.

Well, he's not. He never was. But I think his last couple of teachers felt pressured to tell mom and dad what they wanted to hear.   I know everyone will be disappointed with any answer other than, "He's #1" so I don't see what could be accomplished by being honest. They should be proud of his accomplishments, not disappointed because a couple of kids outperformed him.

Has a teacher ever compared your child's performance to the other kids in the grade level in this way?

by on Jun. 7, 2014 at 9:16 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Andrewsmom70
by Gold Member on Jun. 7, 2014 at 9:19 AM
Nope. I've never been given my son's ranking. And I've never had parents ask me for their child's ranking either. That's crazy to me.

I do know that this year, my son had the highest AR points in his 2nd grade class because he got an award for it. But that's about it.
ba13ygrl1987
by Member on Jun. 7, 2014 at 9:32 AM
I'd comment, but if my view differs from yours I'll just be insulted, aonwhats the point.
ba13ygrl1987
by Member on Jun. 7, 2014 at 9:32 AM
So what's the *