Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Elementary School Kids Elementary School Kids

Teachers, please help! *Small Update*

Posted by on Aug. 17, 2014 at 4:56 PM
  • 15 Replies
My son is 5 years old and starting kindergarten in a few weeks. I'm a math teacher. It's been very long since I've studied about early literacy. My son has ADHD. I'm sure that plays a part in the difficulties he's been having. He attended pre-k within our school district, but they didn't spend much time on print concepts.

He has struggled to learn letter names despite our efforts at teaching them to him. He can remember the sounds that some letters make (the ones we've worked on), but not the letter name. If I show him a letter and ask him what it is, he makes the sound for the letter. I will ask him again for its name, and he can't remember.

He is having the same difficulty with numbers. We had a movie night here at home with lots of snack food to munch on during the movie. He counted to see how many m&m's were left. He county twelve. He said, "that means you get 4, daddy gets 4, and I get 4." Yet, he can't recognize the number 4 in print.

What could be going on here? I would love the input from teachers who have more experience with early literacy skills than I do.

Small Update:

We've now been in school for 3 months. He's made a good bit of progress.

He knows most of his letter names, and all letter sounds. He has also started blending to read CVC words. He's ahead of his mid-year goal on the assessment they use for phonological processes. After Christmas, they will begin progress monitoring on phonics.

Not surprised, but he is excelling in math.