Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Socially Awkward 8 year old

Posted by on Sep. 23, 2014 at 1:52 PM
  • 13 Replies

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here. Im looking for some advice and help with my 7 soon to be 8 year old. To give a brief background, since he was 2 he has had some sensory issues and has needed speech therapy for his appraxia. I'm concerned about his social akwardnesss, because now that he is older, I'm finding out that he does not play with other kids during recess. He sits away from everyone and reads a book. He's already excluding himself and I want to help with his social issues/ fears now before it get's real worrisome. He's naturally an introvert and I've heard not to push his boundaries but I'm not sure how to help him overcome his anxieties on meeting new people. I'm also concerned of his low motor skills. Although, he may not like it and is not interested the slightest bit in sports, I'm considering putting him in a team sport to help make friends and help with this. I feel sad that he can't even dribble a ball correctly. 

Advice, tips / reccomendations are appreciated! 

by on Sep. 23, 2014 at 1:52 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
by Member on Sep. 23, 2014 at 3:16 PM
Cafemom has a sensory processing disorder group as well as a special needs group.

I would suggest that you also post this question in one of those groups in addition to this post.

If he has anxiety about being around people I wouldn't consider Him to be an Introvert.

As for sports since he's not a people person have you considered. Karate or swimming to improve his motor skills. I wouldn't put him in team sports.

Maybe you can find a social skills group near you. Maybe a book club.

Will your insurance cover additional Occupational Therapy outside of school?

Good luck
by Gold Member on Sep. 23, 2014 at 3:48 PM