• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

She Tells Me Nothing!

Posted by on Apr. 8, 2016 at 10:27 AM
  • 25 Replies

Went to parent teacher conferences last night. Was informed that dd has been going to a theatre group once a week during school hours since November.

Dd's teacher broke her leg and did not do fall conferences so this is my first time corresponding face to face all school year. She said she was so proud of dd's work in the theatre group, then informed me that dd was suppose to be in a play at the art gala a few months back but apparently couldn't go because we had something going on.

I knew nothing about this! I never saw paperwork and she never mentioned it. When I got home I asked her about it.

Her response- Yeah I wanted to be a lamb but they made me a flower so I told her I wasn't going.

Me- You never told me you were going to be in a play. I would have liked to have seen you as a flower.

Her- It was going to be a surprise. But I didn't want to be a flower. Maybe next time you can come see me when I'm not a flower.

This is not the first time she has kept stuff from me. She won a coloring contest I didn't even know she participated in and went on a limo ride and a trip to Jimmy Jones for winning a citizenship award. I found out about it when another mom posted a pic online of the kids standing outside the limo.  I ask her about her day every night. I ask questions. She usually just says it was good. Tells me about lunch and playing with her friends. She talks about who has a crush on who and who got their feelings hurt or was being mean on the playground. But never hey mom I won an award or am in a play. *sigh*

Anyone else have a kid who leaves them in the dark?

by on Apr. 8, 2016 at 10:27 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
shellybird
by Member on Apr. 8, 2016 at 10:38 AM