Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Do your kids like to help you cook?

Posted by on Jan. 18, 2017 at 3:10 AM
  • 17 Replies

My eldest has ZERO interest in being in the kitchen with me while my younger two, I have to let them smell, taste, stir, see and try and get them out of the kitchen.  I love to get them involved but I also want to get the meal on the table in a timely manner! 

Do your kids like to help you cook?

by on Jan. 18, 2017 at 3:10 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Marti123
by Bronze Member on Jan. 18, 2017 at 7:06 AM
Only the 3 year old, which is rarely helpful, lol. My 7 year old is the best table "sitter & designer I know though, haha!
mcginnisc
by Claire on Jan. 18, 2017 at 7:18 AM

My 11 year old will fix herself something to eat, but as helping me? Nope.. I'm not good with people being in my kitchen while I cook. I know they need to learn, but it makes me twitch having them underfoot. 

Claire

" I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." Philippians 4:13 

RaeMarie
by Bronze Member on Jan. 18, 2017 at 7:52 AM

Not only do I let them help, I flat out turn some meals over to dd16 to make so I have a night off. I have taught them how to use the microwave and I no longer make their lunches at home. They make them themselves. Rarely do I make breakfast, they do it. 

jamianne
by Silver Member on Jan. 18, 2017 at 8:18 AM

They both help me cook.  DS's new favorite thing is cooking shows so he's more interested in being in the kitchen than dd at the moment. 

Linda_Runs
by Silver Member on Jan. 18, 2017 at 8:21 AM

My 9 year old not so much unless there is a treat at the end of it.  BUT, my 11 year old - she love to do as much as she can.  She makes a mess and is hard to get to help clean-up, but her interest in cooking and her ability to cook for an 11 year old is awesome!  I am very proud of her.

Raeann11