Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Life Insurance and Cancer Coverage

Posted by on Apr. 10, 2017 at 8:10 AM
  • 11 Replies

I have been working in insurance for a bit more than 5 years. But even before I broke into this industry I made sure to insure my dd's life. I have heard from other parents that carrying life insurance on your children is tacky, morbid, and weird.  

A few years ago I signed up for Aflac's cancer plan. Basically if myself, spouse, or girls get diagnosed with any type of cancer or terminal illness we will receive a variety of payouts. A lump sum at diagnosis, monies towards treatement, hotel stays, and surgeries.

Again I was told this is weird, being over dramatic, asking for trouble, wishing for bad things, and tacky.

With that said I' curious who else has insured their child. I don't think it's morbid I think it's smart. I want both my childlren to live happy healthy long lives. But I want to be prepared if something happens. I don't think I would have the strength or interest to host benefits or gofundmes. I don't think I would want to deal with the world if anything were to happen to either one of  them.

My friend's 4 year old had a biopsy last week and they are waiting for her official diagnosis but it's cancerous. The mom  is struggling with a ton of feelings. And considering quittng her job as she was told that she does not qualify for FMLA and state insurance is actually better than what she has. . (Still learning on how that's possible) She's a single mom with 4 kids.

Her dd's dad is in the hospital himself with kidney issues.

Seeing what she's going through and reflecting on the judgement I got just as me thinking. I feel horrible for her.

by on Apr. 10, 2017 at 8:10 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
wakymom
by Ruby Member on Apr. 10, 2017 at 2:50 PM

We do not have life insurance on the kids.