Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What are good summer crops?

Posted by on Jul. 2, 2011 at 11:08 AM
  • 3 Replies
  • 422 Total Views

I have had a pretty successful garden so far.  I'm thrilled that it is doing so well cause this is my first year doing a garden.  I have an 8ftx16ft raised garden that I decided to try square foot gardening in.

I currently have peppers(bell, cayanne, and jalapano), tomatoes, cuccumbers, tomatillos, carrots, swiss chard, bibb lettuce, curly lettuce, buch green beans, pole beans, potatoes, asparagus, collard greens, and various herbs.  I had spinach, but it died off when it got hot out. 

I now have room where my spinach was, where i was going to plant broccoli but never got to it, and will have room where my lettuces are since they look like they are nearly done producing.  It will be about 10 squares open. 

I'm a little unsure about doing seeds since it is my first year, so I'll be going and buying seedlings.  What are some good summer producing plants I can put in the empty areas?

I think come fall I want to plant some broccoli, but i know that doesn't do well in the hot summer (I live in NE PA, and it isn't uncommon to have 90-100 degree days), so i'm trying to think of something to plant in the mean time.  Plus I think 10 sq ft of broccoli might be just a bit much, LOL!!

Lilypie Breastfeeding tickers

I will nurse him, MOM I AM!!!!!

by on Jul. 2, 2011 at 11:08 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
jenn1972
by on Jul. 3, 2011 at 9:02 AM