Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

need help identifying pepper..*got the answer

Posted by on Jul. 26, 2012 at 3:39 PM
  • 11 Replies
  • 524 Total Views

The little tag thing for a few of our pepper plants got lost and I have no idea what kind of peppers they are.  I can't do pics right now but here is description.   The pepper is very small - about the size of a cherry tomato.  Each plant only grew one pepper, and they started green but turn to red. Very firm.  Also, the peppers grew upside down, with super short stem. Haven't tried any yet to determine whether sweet or hot pepper.  

Any thoughts.

Thanks to mommydew, we have an answer :) It is a cherry hot pepper.  Thanks everyone for helpng! :)

by on Jul. 26, 2012 at 3:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
TeaHound
by on Jul. 27, 2012 at 7:54 PM

I'm no expert, but I'd say there's a strong possiblility those are habenaros.

tecsabates
by on Jul. 27, 2012 at 11:19 PM

nope - I have a bunch of habaneros. Habaneros are more bell shaped and real wrinkly.  These are small, round, smooth and firm. 

Thanx tho.....This is driving crazy lol.  I spent an hour yesterday looking at pictures of peppers and never did see one that looks like these.

Quoting TeaHound:

TeaHound
by on Jul. 28, 2012 at 7:41 PM

I'm sorry.  I'll bump you every day in hopes someone who knows will see your post. :)

Quoting tecsabates:

nope - I have a bunch of habaneros. Habaneros are more bell shaped and real wrinkly.  These are small, round, smooth and firm. 

Thanx tho.....This is driving crazy lol.  I spent an hour yesterday looking at pictures of peppers and never did see one that looks like these.

Quoting TeaHound:

tecsabates
by on Jul. 28, 2012 at 9:03 PM

Thanx! :)

Quoting TeaHound:

I'm sorry.  I'll bump you every day in hopes someone who knows will see your post. :)

Quoting tecsabates:

Quoting TeaHound: