Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What is it? (WIC)

Posted by on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:32 AM
  • 23 Replies

Would someone out there be kind and patient enough to explain what, exactly, WIC is and does and why people receive it?  I could look it up, but I'd prefer a first-hand account. 

I'm very curious as to why so many people receive it.

Thank you in advance for the indulgence.

by on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:32 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
twinmamaof3
by on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:37 AM

women infact C (not sure)

We get it becasue we qualify, my husband is a e5 in the army and I am a full time student we have three children, when we only had one we didnt qualify but then we had the twins and we qualified.

inspain
by Ruby Member on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:40 AM

Does this require that a certain income level not be exceeded?  Is it available only to military families?

jazzy020106
by on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:42 AM

Here its women infants children..

If you qualify.. while your pregnant you get milk and cheese PB things like that.. then after the baby is born (depending on whether you breastfeed or not) you either continue to get your milk and things like that.. or you get formula... and no its not only for military families.. Its another form of PA

Quoting twinmamaof3:

We get it becasue we qualify, my husband is a e5 in the army and I am a full time student we have three children, when we only had one we didnt qualify but then we had the twins and we qualified.

twinmamaof3
by on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:44 AM

oh no it is open toeveryone who qualifies, it depends on youre icome and how many people are in youre houshold.

Quoting inspain:

Does this require that a certain income level not be exceeded?  Is it available only to military families?

twinmamaof3
by on Oct. 29, 2009 at 10:45 AM