Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Bankruptcy?

Posted by on Nov. 12, 2009 at 2:22 AM
  • 5 Replies

We've been trying to slowly get out debt down and my DH had to stop working a few weeks ago. He has MS and it's getting worse. I can go back to work (I'm a SAHM now), but I'll only make $10 and hour because I have little experience and no college degree. His disability benefits won't start for 6 months and we have no savings!! We have about $4500 in bills every month. Any advice where to go now? Bankruptcy? Can we keep our house, cars if we do go that route?

by on Nov. 12, 2009 at 2:22 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
sallymoon
by on Nov. 12, 2009 at 2:35 AM

I would try to avoid bankruptcy if at all possible.  If you have to get a loan for something after you've declared bankruptcy, you'll pay insanely high interest rates.  A few of my friends declared bankruptcy and then ended up even more screwed.  Have you contacted your mortgage company to see what they may be able to do for you?  If you have significant credit card debt, you could try calling the companies to explain your situation and see what they would be willing to do.  If you have to declare bankruptcy they may not see a dime, so they may be willing to work with you.  Credit counseling may also be helpful, but be careful about who you go to.  Have you contacted your local Job and Family Services to see if you will qualify for any assistance such as food stamps?

KyliesMom5
by Platinum Member on Nov. 12, 2009 at 2:38 AM