Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How to make my husband understand...IT'S MY BUSINESS!!!

Posted by on Nov. 16, 2009 at 5:41 PM
  • 13 Replies

I've been calling myself a SAHM, but it's not completely true...I am a WORK-at-home Mom, most of the time. I am a personal trainer out of my home. Three years ago, we added a 2 car garage onto our house and converted the 2 car detached garage into my studio. We bought high-end new equipment and tools, and I have had a successful business ever since. I have clients at LEAST 3 days a week, and during peak times of the years 5 days a week, sometimes up to 10 clients a day! We were able to pay off the addition, remodel, and equipment in a year and a half. I love my "job"...I make fantastic money, have a great contract, and I don't miss out on a single minute with my family, but here's my problem:

Lately, my DH thinks it's okay to pop into my studio when I'm working with a client. I've told him it is OFF-LIMITS when I am working. It makes me look completely unprofessional, not to mention how uncomfortable it makes my clients feel. I thought he understood, until today. I was spotting, and in he walks to see if I'd be done to have lunch with him (in other words, would I be making him his lunch?). I couldn't just walk him out, but I did give him the dirtiest of looks and he left. When  he got home a while ago, he said he didn't think it was that big of a deal! I told him he'd think differently if I lost my clients and didn't have the money coming in! Did he absorb that? NO! He's moping around here like a baby.

I don't know what to do...do I lock the door (I don't think that will fly with the county Board of Health!)? Grrrr! I am so mad that he doesn't get it! HELP!

by on Nov. 16, 2009 at 5:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
KimmyShaw
by Ruby Member on Nov. 16, 2009 at 5:43 PM