Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Can a teacher withhold snack for bad behavior? *Need answers please*

Posted by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:34 PM
  • 46 Replies

I am having a hard time finding Texas laws for schools about meals/snacks/punishment. Can anyone help me?

My son is almost 4.  He goes to mother's day out two days a week.  He said that today most of the kids didn't mind Mrs. Kristy, so nobody got snack today.  When I was a teacher at a daycare for 5 yrs, we were always told to withhold toys/centers/outside time.  Never food.  Is that something teachers can do?  Is it right?  Need answers/opinions.  I don't feel it's fair to make ALL the kids do without bc most were bad.  My kid scarfed down his snack I packed for him when he got in the car bc he was so hungry.

by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:34 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
alwaysyoung
by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:36 PM

I don't know if they can do that but it is not right. I would never withhold food from a child.

iamcafemom83
by Rah-Rah on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:36 PM

i dont think they can. its usually time outs and have toys taken away. im pretty sure that is a no-no! follow up with the director. and if that doesnt work, try the people that do the inspections!

i.heart.rachel
by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:37 PM

They can do whatever they want.

I mean, it's not RIGHT.. but as far as that goes.. there's no rule a kid has to have a snack. Know what I mean?

I would be asking about it, though.

24 year old, God loving, non-vaxing, business owning (Nellie Bug's Tutus) momma to Jenelle, Gracelynn, and Sapphire. Girlfriend to Rachel (not wife, because apparently some people are AGAINST two loving, consenting adults marrying).

snowpeasmom
by on Dec. 1, 2009 at 5:37 PM