Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is it a law in every state......edit

Posted by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:33 PM
  • 148 Replies

or just a recommendation by the American Academy of Pediatrics on rear facing until 1 year and 20 lbs.  My sister was thinking about turning her son around, he just turned 11 months is 26 lbs, and 32 in.  He now screams and throws a fit and won't sit down (we have to force him) and then he screams and tries turning his head to see the front seat the entire car ride.  She wants to do what is best for him.  Does anyone know?

In my state its not a law.....the website  to find out if it really is a law where you live

iihs.org

by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:33 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
marshakay
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:35 PM

i am in florida and 1 and 20 is the law here

alishabear0808
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:37 PM

I am not sure of all states but I know that some states allow ff when the child reaches 29 pounds... Only reason I know this is my oldest boy was 36 pounds at 9 months old...

jasminesmom09
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:37 PM

its not the LAW persay in every state, but they all have a manufacture use law.. meaning you have to follow the manufacture statistics listed and NO car seat will allow you to FF before 1year


what kind of seat does she have?

has she tried a mirror onthe head rest?


also did she watch the video about ERF

stephanie, 21 mom to jasmine (jan 12, 09). ,
yahoo: jasminesmom11209





wife.and.mommy
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:39 PM

NO state has a law, its what is printed on your car seat.

and for someone to tell you there is a law is talking BS out of their arse.

SweetPea020403
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:40 PM

virginia  -- its law.

 air forceloving my 1st Lt.breastfeedingNursing my Makenzietoddler girlplaying with my Phoebe monstergirl on a swingand having a Swinging" good time with my Kaleigh bug

 


 

ZoeCY
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:45 PM

Where on earth do you get your information?? 

OP: It is the law in Michigan.  She (or you) can just look up and see what the laws in your specific state are.

Quoting wife.and.mommy:

NO state has a law, its what is printed on your car seat.

and for someone to tell you there is a law is talking BS out of their arse.

 

Cavalrybaby02
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:46 PM

LOL, that's what I was wanting to know.

It's the law in many states that you cannot turn your child around until they are 1 and 20 pounds.

Quoting ZoeCY:

Where on earth do you get your information?? 

OP: It is the law in Michigan.  She (or you) can just look up and see what the laws in your specific state are.

Quoting wife.and.mommy:

NO state has a law, its what is printed on your car seat.

and for someone to tell you there is a law is talking BS out of their arse.

 

jasminesmom09
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:48 PM


Quoting alishabear0808:

I am not sure of all states but I know that some states allow ff when the child reaches 29 pounds... Only reason I know this is my oldest boy was 36 pounds at 9 months old...

Read my reply.. NO state will let you FF before 1 year... and its NOT SAFE at all


VIDEO WILL MAKE U CRY!!!

stephanie, 21 mom to jasmine (jan 12, 09). ,
yahoo: jasminesmom11209





mandisue1
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 2:49 PM

It is a law in Texas.

Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)