Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The CafeMom Newcomers Club The CafeMom Newcomers Club

are you qualified to homeschool your kids?

Posted by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:28 PM
  • 219 Replies

I have a question about homeschooling. This is in no way meant to bash or pass judgment, I am just curious. What makes a non teacher certified parent qualified to properly teach their children. I am a teacher and I know that it takes a lot of work to learn the curriculum for various grade levels. Do you ever feel as if your child is going to miss any important learning opportunities.

by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:28 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
anetrnlov
by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:30 PM

What important learning opportunities?

We use the state mandated curriculum as a guideline.  We also use the curriculum from areas close to use that are known for having excellent schools as a guideline in his teaching.

I have an unlimited amount of resources to teach my child.  I am also able to cater to his learning style as well as his strengths and weaknesses.

PrettyInPink09
by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:31 PM

I've always wondered the same thing. 

http://www.cafemom.com/group/109030

anetrnlov
by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:36 PM

I should also mention that there are literally thousands of pre-made curriculums available to parents.

I can also present you with many articles about studies done on homeschoolers, how they test (on average) against public school studies as well as how they preform in college.

zjonzie
by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:50 PM

i dont feel im qualified.  i have thought of it, but its not for us.  the math alone would kill me lol.  id like him to get a better education than i feel i can give him.  however i have seen some kick ass moms that do a great job!

monsters_momma
by on Feb. 11, 2010 at 1:50 PM