Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Single Mom Relationships

Posted by on Mar. 6, 2010 at 12:35 PM
  • 4 Replies

Hello. I am new to message boards but I have been wanting to join for a long time because I am interested in what other single moms think about my situation. Please give me your opinion, no matter how honest!

Here's my story: I married my ex-husband  (we'll call him Joe) in 2003 shortly after (9 months after) I lost my high school sweetheart in a motor vehicle accident. I was devasted about this and since we shared all of the same friends, they were all in mourning too and didn't come around because they didn't want to say the wrong things. I felt totally alone, in need to love and support, and "Joe" just happened to stick around. He did not treat me super nicely or with extra love and affection. He was simply an ear that listen, a shoulder to cry on, and he was always there when I just didn't want to be alone. We rushed into marriage because he was in the Navy. 6 months later we were pregnant with our first child. All the while, I am getting to know what a cold and heartless person he really was. I spent a lot of time alone at which time I found myself morning the loss of my high school sweetheart. We also fought a lot and his parents and sister always came before and in between our marriage.