Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Donating Cord Blood

Posted by on Jun. 27, 2010 at 5:21 PM
  • 22 Replies

Anyone else done it? I'm having my baby is 7 weeks and we are donating the cord blood, but I didn't know it was an option with my first so I've never done it before. I have to wait for my kit to come and then call them after to pick it up, but does anyone know whats involved with collecting the blood? It says a nurse will collect it...I don't really know what that entails. I'm pretty sure it won't hurt, I'm just wondering if there is anything else I should know.

by on Jun. 27, 2010 at 5:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bamababe1975
by Stephanie on Jun. 27, 2010 at 6:40 PM

No, I've never done it, nor do I know anything about it. I'd ask the hospital how they handle that specifically if you'd like more details.

erinsmom1964
by Ruby Member on Jun. 27, 2010 at 6:58 PM

Why would you donate it and not keep it for your family???

erinsmom1964
by Ruby Member on Jun. 27, 2010 at 7:02 PM

I have Erins cord blood stored for our family if needed.  Of course it doesn't hurt they take it out of the cord once its been removed from the baby.  Make sure you tell EVERYONE what your doing and remind them.  Keep the kit with you and call the number as soon as baby is delivered.  They will show up within 24 hrs right to your room to collect the kit.  Then they test it in their lab to make sure it is enough and good enough quality then they store it for you.

It is amamzing the things that can be treated with cord blood right now and its only going to get better as more research comes.  It works for the child who it came from and it can also work for siblings and other relatives.  Hope storing it is what you meant not donating.  Smart choice IMO

RedMomma4
by on Jun. 27, 2010 at 7:04 PM