Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschool Preschool Curriculum Help

Posted by on Jul. 12, 2010 at 9:12 PM
  • 8 Replies

Hello, I am opening a preschool from my home and am in need of some suggestions for curriculum. I am a certified teacher but have never developed my own curriculum (I have a bunch of great ideas though!) and I was looking into getting the Abeka preschool curriculum to work from (tweaking it where I see fit) but I have NO IDEA what I should or shouldn't buy. There is SOOO much stuff to choose from. What I wanted was a teachers book that gives me a run down of what to teach when and suggests activities to go with it so I can tweak it and make it my own. Do you have any suggestions for me? I appreciate any help you may have :-)

by on Jul. 12, 2010 at 9:12 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
kjsmama0206
by Silver Member on Jul. 12, 2010 at 9:41 PM
I teach prek and love abeka!!!!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
kjsmama0206
by Silver Member on Jul. 12, 2010 at 9:48 PM
I forgot to say we use the abc123 book, the art project book, both of the hand writing books, and another one ummm ready skills or something like that

Quoting kjsmama0206:

I teach prek and love abeka!!!!

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Chelebug2
by on Jul. 12, 2010 at 9:53 PM

I am sorry I am not a abeka fan, I use beyond centers and circle time, where the children learn hands on activities. It has worked great and I love it. I can use any materials and my imagination. The children I have taught have went to school fully prepare and even place d in alpha so I know it works. Other good ones are wee learn and high scope. Do some research online and see which one fits you best!! :)

LancesMom
by Ruby Member on Jul. 12, 2010 at 10:28 PM