Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Door to Door Soliciting

Posted by on Jul. 25, 2010 at 12:30 PM
  • 13 Replies

Hi Ladies,

Has anyone else experienced an increase in door-to-door salesmen recently?

I was harassed yesterday by a girl who claimed to be a college student and she said was doing a project about ppl's jobs. She asked what I do for a living and then she whipped out her magazine list and told me how she will win a trip to Hawaii if I buy some magazines. She said this "project" was for a communication class she was taking (yeah right).

Ugg.

When I told her I wasn't interested she became upset and then started yelling at me!! I was shocked!

Anywho, my friend who lives in AZ told me someone came to her door who was selling magazines and saying roughly the same thing.

So, anyone else experiencing this lately? I'm curious to know if my solicitor really lives in my neighborhood (as she claimed) or if she is traveling. I would hate for her to cause me any trouble, considering she knows where I live.

I really need to get a "No Soliciting" sign on my door.

by on Jul. 25, 2010 at 12:30 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
MommyToEthan
by on Jul. 25, 2010 at 12:38 PM

i dont answer the door.....period.    

no, i dont want to buy anything.      and no, i dont want to talk about God.

Do you have a BOY??   If so, come join us at RAISING BOYS!  It's a great group for mothers of boys of any age!  Hope to see you there!!   http://www.cafemom.com/group/336/

iluvmypreemies
by on Jul. 25, 2010 at 12:40 PM

I open the door say NO and shut it in their faces before they can say anything. Then they don't bother me.

MarchMarie
by on Jul. 25, 2010 at 12:42 PM

OMG, we had tons of those last summer in our area... PITB

ilovemyson2002
by mom of 2 boys on Jul. 25, 2010 at 12:42 PM