Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Do you think this is considered college?

Posted by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 1:41 AM
  • 67 Replies

Poll

Question: Considered a college or not?

Options:

Yep, college

Nope, not college

Other...cuz there's always an other

Only group members can vote in this poll.

Total Votes: 142

View Results

I recently graduated from cosmetology school.  My mom likes to tell all her friends that I graduated from college.  My sister however, always says that I didn't graduate from college, it's just a trade school so it's nothing for anyone to brag about (she didn't even graduate high school).  So...can I say I graduated from college...or no?  I don't really care either way...I'm damn proud of myself, WI is one of the longest schooling programs in the US, there's only 8 states that require more hours.

by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 1:41 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
beadingmom17
by Rachel on Dec. 9, 2010 at 1:43 AM
I wouldn't consider it a college, but it's still something to be damn proud of!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Bella_Angel
by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 1:43 AM

I would say so..

And might I add.. it sounds like your sister has a bit of a jealously problem.. I'm sorry, I'm not trying to be rude, but that's just what it reads to me..

Holly.
by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 1:45 AM

I wouldn't consider it college ONLY because you only learn one thing there: cosmetology. At a college, you choose your major (ex: Literature) and you take lots of Lit classes but you also are required to take math, science, history, etc. to get a degree. At a trade school, you are only required to take classes in your trade.

But at the same time, you DO have higher education and you can use it for a career. So don't let what she says bother you - you worked hard to get where you are, and that is what matters!

GigantaursMommy