Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Thinking of talking to my dr about the lap-band, support?

Posted by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 4:42 PM
  • 58 Replies

Well as the title says, I am seriously considering brinign this up. I keep seeing comericals for it, that they say if you at least 50 pounds over weight, and I am 70 pounds over weight. On their website it says that your bmi must fall into the obese catagory...I am litterally .2 away from being in the obese catagory, according to the bmi calculator on the website.

I have been struggeling with my weight now for 5 years (since getting pregnant with my oldest who will be 5 in feb.) I had a personal trainer for a little over a year when we lived in GA (live in cal now) I didnt drop ONE POUND!!!! And yes I did modify my eating habits at that time. That was very depressing, and then got a surprise baby shortly after we moved to california. so that hasn't helped either.

Ive had my thyroid tested and its "normal." so whatever!

Do you think that that I could get everything done in 4 months if I talked to my dr like next week? We only have 4 months left at our current duty station.

by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 4:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
arkansasmama08
by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 4:45 PM
I don't know about the time frame, but I have a friend that had it done and she's happy she did. She's lost 50 since she got it in september (I thnk it was sept.)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
anikahaynes1
by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 4:46 PM

Quoting arkansasmama08:

I don't know about the time frame, but I have a friend that had it done and she's happy she did. She's lost 50 since she got it in september (I thnk it was sept.)

Thanks for your reply, and congrats to your friend! That is fantastic for her!

anikahaynes1
by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 5:13 PM

BUMP!

Aydans_Mommy
by Ruby Member on Dec. 9, 2010 at 5:15 PM