Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Graphic Designer to HELP other moms??

Posted by on Feb. 20, 2011 at 1:04 PM
  • 6 Replies

I am a graphic designer/web developer. I LOVE my profession. It is definitely a labor of true love. My DH took a new job last fall, that was a pretty good pay increase, but required us to relocate. My aunt had always kept my DS, while I was at work. I worked for a web development company and drove over an hour to and from work. It was in my hometown though, which provided family to watch my son.

When we made the decision for DH to take this new job, we discussed all of our options. I even went on a interview for a job at a university. I didn't put a lot into it though, because it my heart it was just not where I saw my career advancing. I did not get the job. DH and I then discussed that maybe my long-term plans should become short-term instead. I want to own my own business, that has been my goal since declaring my major back in 2004. I had planned on working in a professional environment for at least 5 years. Well, children were not on my mind at them. We had the unexpected surprise of pregnancy and welcomed our son into the world in 2009. My plans changed.

Upon moving, I quit my job and became a freelance designer. I am currently working with an online magazine development and love the project. Yet, I am longing for some variety in my work. When I launch my actual business, I want it to be a full vision and ready to go. I have been trying to decide which route I want to take as a designer.