• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What do the husbands think?

Posted by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:20 AM
  • 41 Replies
I have never done a PA post before, but I had a question. I am a SAHM, my husband works, we do not receive any kind of assistance. Luckily my husband brings home a good amount of money so I can stay home without any worry. So my question is to all the women who stay home and receive assistance, what does your husband think of it? There is no way mine would let me stay home and receive FS when I can go out and get a job. He is a very prideful man, and would never allow us to receive government help. I'm not trying to make anyone feel bad, I am just courious.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Metalmommaof1
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:22 AM

my dh is actually happy that we are on medicaid. that is the only thing pa wise we have. if we didnt have that then we would't have figured out what was wrong with dh. his insurance really sucks and its really really expensive. so he has no problem with us bein on it.

Mrs.AmandaD.
by Silver Member on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:22 AM

I've wondered that too.  My husband wouldn't go for that.  He would at least get another job if I wasn't willing or able to work.

Mipsy
by Platinum Member on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:23 AM
We get some assistance like WIC for our sons formula (he's 3 and on a formula thats $40 a can). But dh will not let me work. Our son is special needs so he rather me home caring for our son than working.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
JordansMama2003
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:23 AM

Well, anytime we have been on assistance it has been because my husband was laid off or when we were first starting out as a young couple. Sometimes it isn't a mattering of "allowing" it but a matter of survival.  

orcadarwin