Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Funny email from my boss to a client

Posted by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:12 PM
  • 13 Replies

I am an accountant.  We had a client that brought in a box of info that was supposed to have 2010 stuff for both his personal and business return.  The box was a freakin' mess!  I spent 3 hours today trying to sort it by month, and didn't get even halfway through it.  This is what my boss sent to him:

Good afternoon Jason,

There was a hamster living in the box you dropped off and he evidently rustled the contents to the point that there was no order to the documents. I hope he wasn't a family pet as I had to shoot him when he jumped on Stephanie's desk and started growling at her. After spending a couple of hours sorting through the mess your hamster left we found no business bank statements. There are personal bank statements and business credit card statements and a ton of jumbled receipts some of which had chewing gum wrapped up inside. Just curious as to how you taught the hampster to chew gum. How are we going to proceed - I know you do not want to pay me to sort through the approximate 2,000 miscellaneous receipts to categorize them into what might possibly be deductions. My recommendation is for you to go to the bank and get the business bank statements ordered for 2010 together with copies of the checks and then bring those to us. With regard to the receipts such as hotel bills, business meals and travel and other out of pocket expenses I suggest maybe Holly and you could go thru and summarize those. I will do it for you if you like but it will be based on an hourly rate and will likely cost about $1,500 - $2,000.

Thanks,

by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:12 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mstkn.identity
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 11:14 PM
Lmao. I hope the client has a sense of humor. Lol
Posted on CafeMom Mobile